Ellis Grabs 2nd Round Lead In Austin Men’s City Championship

Alex Ellis put together a steady round with four birdies and a single bogey to shoot 69 at Jimmy Clay and vault into a four shot lead after two rounds of the 2012 Austin Men's City Championship.  Shown here on the left with Beth Cleckler and Brian Noonan, Ellis may be hard to catch over the last two rounds because he has been playing so well as of late.  After a less than satisfactory season on the College of Charleston Golf Team, Ellis has put together an impressive string of golf consisting of a solid performance in the Firecracker Open, winning the local U.S. Open Qualifier, winning the amateur division of the Austin Open and then qualifying for the U.S. Amateur.  His play over the first two days indicates he is still in the groove. 

Four shots back, the field is closely bunched with Drew Bell leading the pack at four under par and a group of players at three under par, including the first round leader Steve Paterson, former city champion Jerry Thorn, Tim Mitchell and Seth Stuart.  Stuart recently won the Hill Country Amateur and posted 70 at Muny after suffering a triple bogey 7 on the first hole.  

Six shots back at two under par are Brian Noonan, who won the Men's City Championship in 2006 & 2007, Mike Allen who won the title in '87, and Trent Redfern who plays for the University of Arizona. Check out his player profile at this link.

The full field scores are available at this link, along with tee times, pairings, hole locations and live scoring as the third round progresses.

The final two rounds of the championship will be contested at Roy Kizer Golf Course. 

Here is a list of who has won the Austin Men's City Championship


2011  Kody King
2010 Matt Wernecke
2009 Collin Mayer
2008 Collin Mayer
2007 Brian Noonan
2006 Brian Noonan
2005 Kyle Edwards
2004 Steve Trafton
2003 Michael Cooper
2002 Tyler Duncan
2001 Mark Baldree
2000 Michael Cooper
1999 Ed Brooks
1998 Ricky Arzola
1997 Neil Collins
1996 Deron Zinnecker
1995 Wayne Smith
1994 Billy Clagett
1993 Ed Brooks
1992 Ed Brooks
1991 Scott Turner
1990 Jerry Thorn
1989 Thad Harbour
1988 Marty Board
1987 Mike Allen
1986 Kirbey Kielman
1985 Wes Short
1984 Robby Rucker
1983 J.L. Lewis
1982 Roane Puett
1981 Brian Williamson
1980 Bucky Smith
1979 Lester Lundell
1978 Jep Willie
1977 Lester Lundell
1976 Tim Wilson
1975 Roane Puett
1974 Jep Willie
1973 Bill Penn
1972 Lester Lundell
1971 Bill Penn
1970 George Machock
1969 Ben Crenshaw
1968 Ben Crenshaw
1967 Ben Crenshaw
1966 Lester Lundell
1965 Lloyd Morrison
1964 Roane Puett
1963 Ray Kizer
1962 Ray Kizer
1961 Roane Puett
1960 Gib Kizer
1959 Bill Penn
1958 George McCall
1957 Roane Puett
1956 Walter Benson Jr
1955 George McCall
1954 George L Seaholm Jr
1953 Jimmie Connolly
1952 Robert M Durben
1951 Bill Penn
1950 George L Seaholm Jr
1949 Claude Wild Jr
1948 George L Seaholm Jr
1947 Tom Miller Jr
1946 Tom Miller Jr
1945 E.L. Hawkins
1944 Dudley Krueger
1943 Claude Wild Jr.*.
1942 Walter Benson Jr.*
1941 George Seaholm Jr.*
1940 Adolph Bach *
1939 George L Seaholm Jr
1938 Adolph Bach
1937 Buck Luce
1936 Buck Luce
1935 W.R. Long Jr
1934 E. Waid Robison
1933 W.R. Long Jr
1932 W.R. Long Jr
1931 Bascom Giles
1930 Harvey Roberts
1929 Floyd Oliver
1928 Jimmie Connolly





This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.