2012 Morris Williams Spring Mid-Amateur

The 2012 Morris Williams Spring Mid-Amateur is being held this weekend, March 31-April 1, at Jimmy Clay Golf Course while Morris Williams Golf Course is undergoing rennovation.  The defending champion, Brian Kennedy, will not be in the field.  Kennedy's eight under par total set the tournament record.  Read the story here

The competition consists of 36 holes of stroke play and a new champion will be crowned on Sunday.  The field of 94 players includes the following favorites: 

Kody King, the current Men's City Champion, last year's runner-up to Kennedy and last year's player of the year in the Austin Amateur Golf rankings. King dominated local play last year with wins in the City Championship and the season ending Austin Amateur Golf Championship, as well as second place finishes at the Bluebonnet Cup and the Hill Country Amateur.  His play has improved significantly over the last couple of years and shows no signs of being diminished.


Peter McGibney, last year's co-champion of the Harvey Penick Invitational, finished 3rd in the AAG point standings last year.  The talented Irishman who joined the Austin golf scene two years ago has made his presence felt in most of the tournaments he played in last year and is poised to continue his good play.  

Joe Bendetti, the current Bluebonnet Cup Champion, has contended in numerous local tournaments and could prove to be a factor in this year's Spring Mid-Am.

Steve Patterson, the current Terra Vista Champion and runner-up to King in last year's point standings, is poised to begin his 2012 campaign.  Patterson finished T2 at the Hill Country Amateur and finished 2nd to King in the AAG Championship.  

Steve Trafton, the current Men's City Senior Champion and former Men's City Champion plays well at Clay and could contend.

Drew Bell, the current Central Texas Amateur Champion, Michael Cooper, the 2000 and 2003 City Champion and 2003 and 2008 Firecracker Open winner, and Gene Black, former winner of the Morris Williams Spring Mid-Am are all possible contenders.

Dean Lundquist, who will the the Captain of the Rudy's I-35 Cup Austin Team for 2012 will lead the procession with a twosome in first tee time at 7:30.  The field is paired in threesomes starting at 7:30 a.m. and ending with the last group at 12:08.   

First round pairings and tee times appear at Austin Amateur Golf.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.